Esa Pietilä Trio: Direct
  • FRCD-13
  • CD (jewel case)
  • Release date:
    April 4, 2003


  1. Mind Hunt (4:11)
  2. Headway (8:30)
  3. Direct (3:03)
  4. A Sign (2:13)
  5. So is... (6:15)
  6. Bumpy Down (3:09)
  7. Spring Flower (5:32)
  8. Purple Jungle (2:47)
  9. Freejohn (3:26)
  10. Strong till three (4:27)
  11. Point Zero (3:23)
  12. Triangles (6:29)


  • Esa Pietilä - tenor and soprano saxophone
  • Ulf Krokfors - double bass
  • Markku Ounaskari - drums, percussion

Produced by Esa Pietilä.

Ⓟ© 2003 Esa Pietilä


You may find the record in the following stores:

  • Apple Music
  • Spotify

Review Highlights

The result is a recording by matured and explorative musicians whose enjoyment in the process of playing jazz comes through in each of the 12 tracks... "Direct" is the work of a jazz artist worth the search.

- Jazz

"Direct" is Esa Pietilä's third and best album. He is finding his own voice through freer expression. Pietilä's expressive moods are supported exquisitely by guaranteed rhythms of bassist Uffe Krokfors and drummer Markku Ounaskari. Excellent sound of this album through fine recording work also deserves a thank you.

- Helsingin Sanomat

...a visceral gut-punch with both urgency and subtlety.

- All About Jazz

... Pietilä manages to evoke this highly-charged Sixties atmosphere while never resorting to the tired bag of tricks that so few have been able to resist before him... And his tone is gorgeous, particularly on the ringing "Direct" and the resonating "Point Zero".

- Cadence

With his third cd Pietilä seems to be very much at home on these acoustic and free moods. The compositions have long structures which are based on free-based expression. The group does not go for the traditional melodic thinking; instead of that the weight seems to be at collective communication. Good example of that is a wild and rugged tune called "A Sign". Yes, Pietilä has done his best cd. Also the performances of the group are excellent, GO FOR IT!

- Rytmi